The Flying Scot is a very stable 19-foot centerboard sloop used for both family daysailing and racing.  The Flying Scot is one of the oldest and largest one-design sailboat classes in the world.  Over 6,000 Flying Scots have been manufactured by Flying Scot, Inc. which is located in Deer Park, Maryland.  The Flying Scot was inducted in the American Sailboat Hall of Fame in 1998. 


At Berlin Yacht Club we have over 20 active Flying Scot Skippers, and we field between 8 and 12 or more boats on a typical Sunday afternoon or Wednesday night race.  Our sailors range in age from 14 to 80, and come from all walks of life.  New members in the Scot Fleet at BYC find plenty of encouragement and help learning about the Scot and the racing game in a competitive but casual and fun atmosphere.


The Flying Scot is a great boat to try if you are interested in sailboat racing, because it has an open cockpit design with limited control lines, and it is a very forgiving boat.  Good used Flying Scots can be found for sale fully race rigged for under $3,500.00.


If you want to learn more about the Flying Scot Fleet at Berlin Yacht Club, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. to contact a friendly Scot sailor at BYC.


Flying Scot Fleet 19

Ron Craig

Fleet Captain


There was a Fleet 19 meeting on January 3rd, 2018 at Ben’s Restaurant. 
Fleet Captain:  Ron Craig was elected Fleet Captain for 2018
Dues:  Fleet dues will be $25.00 for 2018, and all who pay dues will get a custom-designed t-shirt. Checks can be made payable to Ron Craig or payment may be made in cash.  Crew shirts can also be purchased for a fee of $15.00. Please note: All shirts will be handed out at the Fall Meeting.
There was discussion regarding the 2018 Flying Scot Districts which will NOT be held at BYC (during the BYC Annual Regatta on June 16-17, 2018) as the Flying Scot NAC's are to be held in Health,Texas on June 9-14, 2018; instead Districts will be held at Hoover Sailing Club on May 19-20, 2018. 
Tom Dawson, Sec/Treasurer discussed the BYC Annual Regatta stating that Dan Goldberg, a certified PRO from Moraine Sailing Club would be running the races this year.  Dan will be providing his services free of charge to BYC.  Tom advised the need for lodging for Dan's crew during this time.  Please contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., if you are able to assist.  Dan Goldberg is a past winner of the BYC Regatta and his experience and training is a huge asset to BYC's Regatta- Thank you Dan!
Point Rules 2018:  The Fleet voted to have scoring for the 2018 season remain the same.  For more information on point rules click here.
Ron Craig
Fleet 19 Captain

At Berlin Yacht Club (BYC), our sailing season is divided into four (4) series:

Spring Sunday, Spring Wednesday and Summer Sunday, Summer Wednesday.  

At the end of the racing season, champions for each series are recognized and trophies are awarded for the lowest combined total points for the entire season to the top three (3) skippers in the fleet.

The 2017 Flying Scot Overall Season Point

Recipients are as follows:

1st Overall: Jim Diffley 

2nd Overall: Rick Banning

3rd Overall: Ron Craig 

2017 Best Overall Crew Award:

Karen Banning

2017 Most Improved Skipper:

Lesa Miller 

Congratulations to all the award recipients! Complete 2017 race results can be found HERE.

 Who will be the 2018 Fleet 19 Champions?

Find race results for the 2018 Fleet 19 Season (including cumulative totals) HERE.

A complete explanation of the Flying Scot Fleet 19 point rules can be found HERE.

New to Racing? Not to worry, all are welcome!

We have sailors from all walks of life, ages 8 to 80, that participate in activities at Berlin Yacht Club (BYC).  If you are interested in sailing or sailboat racing we are happy to share our knowledge and experiences with you! Don't let the terminology scare you, BYC Skippers are knowledgeable and most of all, we just LOVE to sail! Learn more about crewing at Berlin Yacht Club (BYC) here.